Julian Treasure: Speaking so Others will Listen

Video Link (9:58): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eIho2S0ZahI

I think the two most important aspects of leadership are speaking and listening. The better you can do both, the more you will understand and the more you will be understood. As one of Covey’s most important rules, seek to understand before seeking to be understood. Julian Treasure talks about the importance of speaking so that people will listen to you.

First, Julian Treasure outlines 7 negative speaking habits for people to avoid. Most importantly, to be a leader, one must avoid these 7 negatives- gossiping, judging, negativity, complaining, making excuses, lying, and dogmatism. All of these seem relevant to speaking and listening, but most important to leadership is dogmatism. It is explained as having it “my way”, which everyone is guilty of in some way. As a leader, I think it is important to put other people first. Followers are more important than leaders because there are more followers than leaders.

Next, Julian Treasure talks about his acronym HAIL. The definition of the word hail is to greet or acclaim enthusiastically. H stands for honesty. Honesty is important because without trust, a relationship does not really exist. A stands for authenticity. Authenticity is important because people want to see other people being themselves, not trying to be something they are not. I stands for integrity. Integrity is important because you have to do what you say, you can’t make promises and then not show up. L stands for love. Love other people by showing them that you really wish them well. As a leader, you have to want other people to succeed.

:Lastly, Julian Treasure gives 6 vocal exercises to warm up vocal chords. I will be using these before my next presentation, they seem very helpful.

Published by

Harry Peterson

I am a Purdue University student, graduating in May 2015 with a degree in Selling & Sales Management. My Positive Attitude, my Determination, and my Front Row Education has led me to where I am now.

Leave a comment