Mark Cuban’s Advice

Video Link (5:01): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UgdNTzul27k

Mark Cuban seems to be one of the most popular people in business today. He owns an NBA team, the Dallas Mavericks, and is on Shark Tank. He is a rare celebrity businessman, and many people want to know what he thinks and how he became successful. In this video clip, Cuban gives advice to high school graduates and college graduates.

Mark Cuban’s advice to high school graduates is to go to the cheapest college possible for freshman year and possibly sophomore year. I think this is great advice. If I could do it all over again, I would maybe have done this. When I was a freshmen and sophomore here at Purdue, I was an accounting student and I was not motivated to succeed. Looking back, the first two years out of high school were the most difficult years of my life. I could have benefited from still living with my parents and attending a community college. However, this was not an option for me at the time.

Mark Cuban then goes on to talk about how much debt students can incur in college. I agree with his views that college is getting to be quite expensive. I am proud that Mitch Daniels froze tuition costs, so Purdue is at least attempting to solve the problem. They are not adding more fuel to the fire. However, I am currently looking at law schools, and some are ridiculously expensive. Some do offer scholarships, but the schools range from $19,000 to $50,000 per year, for 3 years. There is a chance that I could be over $150,000 in debt after graduating from law school, if I do not receive any scholarships. There are ways of dropping the debt, such as working a government job or for a non-profit organization for 10 years, something I may end up doing.

Mark Cuban gives advice to college graduates. As I am about to graduate in less than a month, I found his advice helpful. He says that you don’t need the perfect job, and when I was looking for jobs, I may have been looking for the perfect one. I never found it. He then goes on to say that there is no way that the 30 year old you, or the 25 year old you, is going to look back at the 22 year old you and say that guy had it all together. I hope this is the case. It is very difficult to have a life mission at 22 years old. I believe it is important to have a life mission, but so many things are dictated from external factors. You may want to live in one area, but be offered an incredible job in a different area. You may want to work in one industry, but be a failure in that industry. You might fall into something you didn’t even know about. There are so many unpredictable outcomes in the world.

In 3 years, I know I will be thinking much differently than I do today. I know that because 3 years ago, when I was 19, I was thinking much differently than I do today. It’s such a large change in thinking, that I could not have even predicted it. However, it’s the journey that matters. The life experiences that I had along the way. When I was 19, I thought about possibly going to law school. That idea went away for the next few years, however. Last summer, as a sales intern, I realized that I might not want to be a sales person. It was more something that I just fell into. I could succeed at it, but I might not be happy being a sales person. Then, I was led back to the idea of being a lawyer. I went through the whole process of taking the LSAT, applying to law schools, and getting letters of recommendation. I recently was accepted to NIU law school, despite the odds against me. In my eyes, everything has a way of working itself out in the end. I really believe that everything in my life has happened for a reason.

Published by

Harry Peterson

I am a Purdue University student, graduating in May 2015 with a degree in Selling & Sales Management. My Positive Attitude, my Determination, and my Front Row Education has led me to where I am now.

Leave a comment